Loved Ones Announce Details Of Their Debut Album

Loved Ones have announced details of the release of their debut album. The Merry Monarch will be released through Liverpool based record label Baltic Sub on Monday June 24th 2013.

Back in 2011 via Fierce Panda ‘Are You Hiding Out In Hell?’ was released, (hailed by the NME as ‘dubby psyche brilliance’) the first results of a collaboration between Wirral musicians Nik Glover and Rich Hurst under the name of Loved Ones.

Early shows with Liars and Django Django marked the band as ones to watch in a developing Merseyside scene that would see artists such as disparate as Stealing Sheep, Forest Swords and Bill Ryder-Jones nominated for a new local music prize, the Get Into This Award, dubbed by the national press as the ‘Scouse Mercury Prize’. Loved Ones duly went on to win the award.

A year of writing and recording sessions followed and their ranks were swelled by the arrival of Jay Freeman on bass and multi-instrumentalist Ben Shooter. The resulting album, The Merry Monarch, was recorded at the band’s own Brook House Studios and the first single from the album, ‘Weekends Are Ours’ was released in November 2012 on Witchfinder Records

The tracklisting for The Merry Monarch is as follows:
1. Matchsticks
2. Paper Crown
3. Hell
4. Weekends Are Ours
5. All Your Cry
6. Red Dawn
7. Hi Pressure
8. Currents
9. Ale Hood
10. Wild Palms

Tagged with →  
Music Blogs